CDL Requirements in Washington, D.C.

The following content comes direct from the DC DMV department:

DC DMV offers a commercial driver license (CDL) to professional drivers who reside in the District. The DC DMV CDL is a credential that complies with federal identification guidelines and can be used as a federal-level ID. It is valid for 8 years and can be renewed.

Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) requires a higher level of knowledge, experience, skills, and physical abilities than driving a car or other non-commercial vehicle. To get a DC DMV CDL, you must pass both skills and knowledge testing geared to these higher standards. Additionally, as a DC DMV CDL holder, you will be held to a higher standard when you operate ANY type of motor vehicle on public roads.

To get a DC DMV CDL, you must:

  • Have a valid non-commercial driver license (NCDL)
  • Meet identity, residency, and good driving history eligibility qualifications
  • Take the applicable CDL knowledge tests
  • Get a CDL learner permit
  • Pass the CDL road skills test

More information on the DMV website:

Schedule your DOT Physical in Waldorf, MD today!